Internal Server Error

Ask your questions and tell us what's wrong

Internal Server Error

Postby gabrielahsmx » Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:15 pm

Hi, i'm totally a newbie with Claroline and i haven't had any issue till now... Everytime you try to access a file, an Internal Server Error appears:
---------
The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.
Please contact the server administrator, [email protected] and inform them of the time the error occurred,
and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.
More information about this error may be available in the server error log.
---------
I read and tried with a possible solution related with file permissions setting but the issue remains. Claroline is installed on my site in a shared server host.
Anyone who can fix it or give me a clue to the cause of the error

I would appreciate a lot your cooperation. Thanks
User avatar
gabrielahsmx
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Internal Server Error

Postby zefredz » Fri Jun 15, 2012 6:59 am

Hello,

This does not seem to be an issue related to Claroline. This error message indicates that there is probably something wrong in the configuration of your web server. You should check the apache error log for the error message and check the apache documentation to see if there is a way to solve it.

Regards,
Frederic Minne (ZeFredz) - Université catholique de Louvain - Contributor to Claroline
Image
User avatar
zefredz
Contributeurs Actif Forum
 
Posts: 1450
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Belgium, Louvain-la-Neuve

Re: Internal Server Error - misconfiguration ?

Postby PascalBoulerie » Fri Jun 15, 2012 9:46 am

"Peut être un fichier .htacces avec des directives non supportées par votre config apache"
(source : http://forum4.anemalab.org/read.php?2,1 ... 9#msg-1029 :-) )
PascalBoulerie
Contributeurs Actif Forum
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 2:24 pm

Re: Internal Server Error

Postby gabrielahsmx » Fri Jun 15, 2012 5:29 pm

Thank you very much. I'll follow your advices
User avatar
gabrielahsmx
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Internal Server Error

Postby gabrielahsmx » Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:10 pm

Hi again! Well, i've been told by my webhost support center that this can be an issue about the application (Claroline) reaching the memory limit wich is set in 1GB, can be this posible? Can you tell me where to read about server requirements for Claroline? Thanks you so much ;)
User avatar
gabrielahsmx
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Internal Server Error

Postby gabrielahsmx » Fri Jun 22, 2012 3:46 am

My website support center could solve the issue by blocking our account so the memory were flushed. They say that the claroline scripts can posibly use the whole memory (1GB) so I wonder if you can instruct me about the technical data for make a decision because we've been suggested to change to a dedicated server.
We need something that can support a course with 30 students in average.
Please somebody, any comment will be very valuable. Thanks!
User avatar
gabrielahsmx
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Internal Server Error

Postby Phil » Mon Jun 25, 2012 2:11 pm

Hi,

Normally, Claroline doesn't need so many memory, the only way that I see is when the user want to create upload the whole content of a course, do you have a many big files in the documents of your courses ?

Phil
Phil
Contributeurs Actif Forum
 
Posts: 887
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 1:00 am

Re: Internal Server Error

Postby gabrielahsmx » Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:41 am

Thank you so much Phil... Right now we have around 13 files of 500 KB each on average, what do you think?
User avatar
gabrielahsmx
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Internal Server Error

Postby Phil » Tue Jun 26, 2012 3:47 pm

I think taht it's a very light load, it's just documents or flash or video files ?
Do you add htaccess in your site ?

else I don't understand what happends

Phil
Phil
Contributeurs Actif Forum
 
Posts: 887
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 1:00 am

Re: Internal Server Error

Postby CleoChauhan » Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:16 am

gabrielahsmx wrote:Hi, i'm totally a newbie with Claroline and i haven't had any issue till now... Everytime you try to access a file, an Internal Server Error appears:
---------
The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.
Please contact the server administrator, [email protected] and inform them of the time the error occurred,
and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.
More information about this error may be available in the server error log.
---------
I read and tried with a possible solution related with file permissions setting but the issue remains. Claroline is installed on my site in a shared server host.
Anyone who can fix it or give me a clue to the cause of the error

I would appreciate a lot your cooperation. Thanks

This does not seem to be an issue related to Claroline.
CleoChauhan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:19 am

Re: Internal Server Error

Postby gabrielahsmx » Fri Jun 29, 2012 6:42 pm

Hi Phil, there are just documents. My website has an htaccess for default and I haven't modify it, should I put something there?

Besides it happens that Claroline is installed in the same account within the website which is just html with images, do you think this matters?

Regards
User avatar
gabrielahsmx
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Internal Server Error

Postby radek123 » Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:28 pm

I have problem with Internal Server Error.

Platform works ok but if i Install custom module in platform and i click in course in this module i have INTERNAL SERVER ERROR message.
I change CHMOD with suggestion:
http://doc.claroline.net/en/index.php/W ... r_Error%3F
But the same effect i have.
radek123
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 2:25 pm


Return to Bugs Claroline 1.10 (previous stable version)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests

cron